CVRPC is a regional planning organization working with and for twenty-three municipalities in Central Vermont, including all the towns in Washington County and three towns in Orange County: Orange, Washington, and Williamstown. Our mission is to assist member municipalities in providing effective local government and to work cooperatively with them to address regional issues. We also work with area non-profits, other regional organizations, State and Federal agencies, and the general public.

Formed in 1967, CVRPC is one of Vermont’s eleven regional commissions. Local representatives to the Commission are appointed by the legislative bodies of each municipality. The Commission meets monthly with topics covering a broad range of Central Vermont concerns: regional land use issues, local growth center identification and evaluation, economic development, natural resource issues, public/private sector cooperation, and review of Act 250 projects. CVRPC is uniquely positioned to coordinate and guide activities between state and local governments.

The Central Vermont Regional Planning Commission holds its monthly meeting on the second Tuesday of each month.  Meetings are generally held at 6:30 p.m. at the conference room of the Central Vermont Chamber of Commerce in Berlin.  Please check the latest agenda to be sure the meeting time and place have not been changed.

The Executive Committee of CVRPC meets monthly on the Monday of the week before the Commission meeting.  Meetings are held at 4:00 p.m. at the CVRPC offices, 29 Main Street, Suite 4, Montpelier.  When a holiday falls on the first Monday, the meeting will generally be held the next day.  However, it is advised that you call the office to confirm.


Executive Committee

  • Julie Potter, Chair – East Montpelier
  • Laura Hill-Eubanks, Vice Chair - Northfield
  • Michael Gray, Treasurer – Woodbury
  • Dara Torre, Secretary – Moretown
  • Byron Atwood – Barre Town
  • Janet Shatney - Barre City
  • Steve Lotspeich – Waterbury

Regional Commissioners

  • Janet Shatney – Barre City
  • Byron Atwood – Barre Town
  • Robert Wernecke – Berlin
  • Amy Hornblas - Cabot
  • John Brabant - Calais
  • Alan Quackenbush – Duxbury
  • Julie Potter – East Montpelier
  • Karl Klein – Fayston
  • Melissa Seifert - Marshfield
  • Ronald Krauth – Middlesex
  • Kirby Keeton – Montpelier
  • Dara Torre – Moretown
  • Laura Hill-Eubanks – Northfield
  • Lee Cattaneo - Orange
  • Bram Towbin - Plainfield
  • Gerry D’Amico – Roxbury
  • Don La Haye – Waitsfield
  • Camilla Behn - Warren
  • Peter Carbee – Washington
  • Steve Lotspeich - Waterbury
  • Richard Turner - Williamstown
  • Michael Gray - Woodbury
  • Bill Arrand – Worcester


Annual Appointments Form