Pre-Disaster Mitigation Competitive (PDM-C) and Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA)

FEMA’s Pre-Disaster Mitigation Competitive (PDM-C) and Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) grant programs for FY 2010 will provide funds to states, territories, Federal and State-recognized Native American (Indian) tribes, communities, colleges and universities for pre-disaster mitigation planning and the implementation of cost-effective mitigation projects prior to a disaster event. The purpose of these grant programs is to reduce the overall risk to people, homes and other structures while reducing reliance on funding from future disaster declarations. PDM-C is a nationally competitive grant program, while FMA projects are selected at the FEMA Region 1 level.

Funds: Approximately $100 million will be available nationwide for project grants, technical assistance, and program support for PDM as part of the FY 2010 Unified Hazard Mitigation Assistance program. Each state is allocated $500,000 as a set-aside, provided the submitted applications meet all FEMA eligibility requirements and are selected by the state and FEMA National Review panels. Availability of PDM funds and funding amounts are dependent upon Congressional appropriation and reauthorization. States are not limited to the set-aside amount ($500,000) and may potentially receive additional funds depending upon the quality of the applications. For FMA, Vermont is allocated $100,000, although additional funds may be made available from other state’s unused allocations. PDM grants are to be awarded by FEMA on a nationally competitive basis.

Eligible Activities: Mitigation planning: $800,000 cap on Federal share for new plans, not to exceed a 3 year performance period; up to $400,000 Federal share available for plan updates
Mitigation projects: $3 million cap on Federal share, not to exceed 3 years performance period
Information dissemination activities: not to exceed 10%; activities must pertain directly to a planning or project application
Sub-applicant management costs: not to exceed 5% of total project costs
Cost-share ratio: 75% Federal share, with a 25% local match requirement. Small and impoverished communities may be eligible for up to a 90% Federal cost share amount in the PDM grant program only.

Sub-applicant Eligibility: State-level agencies, Federal and state recognized Native American tribal governments, local governments, public colleges and universities are eligible to apply to for assistance. Private non-profit organizations and private colleges and universities are not eligible. However, a relevant state agency or local government may apply to Vermont Emergency Management for assistance on their behalf.

NFIP Participation: All Applicants must be participating in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) if they have been identified as having a Special Flood Hazard Area (i.e. a Flood Hazard Boundary Map or Flood Insurance Rate Map has been issued). In addition, the Applicant/Sub-applicant must not be on probation, suspended or withdrawn from the NFIP. However, applicants that are not mapped under the NFIP are eligible.

Mitigation Plan Requirement: Applicants must have a FEMA-approved local mitigation plan by the application deadline in order to receive project grants. However, PDM planning grants will continue to be available to Applicants that do not have a FEMA-approved mitigation plan to enable them to meet the planning requirements.

Letters of Intent: Vermont Emergency Management (VEM) requests that those towns/agencies intending to submit a PDM or FMA application should first submit a Letter of Intent (LOI) to the State Hazard Mitigation Officer no later than Monday, August 3, 2009. For a sample LOI, please see the VEM website at: or the attachment to this announcement.

Benefit-Cost Analysis (BCA): This is a very important part of the application process. Applicants needing assistance in completing their BCA may contact the local Regional Planning Commission. Some benefit-cost assistance may also be provided by Vermont Emergency Management. BCA workshops may also be provided in the fall of 2009.

E-Grants: PDM-C and FMA applications must be submitted electronically through FEMA’s E-Grants portal at Only those applications submitted through E-Grants will be accepted. Those indicating an interest in applying will be issued a valid user name and password by Vermont Emergency Management. Previously issued user names and passwords for E-Grants may be used. Applicants must provide an original and two copies of any paper supporting documentation that cannot be electronically attached to an E-Grants application (e.g. engineering drawings, maps, photos, etc).
Mitigation Grant guidance may be downloaded from FEMA’s website at:

Deadline for Applications: Completed applications must be submitted electronically to Vermont Emergency Management through FEMA’s E-Grants portal no later than close of business on Monday, November 16, 2009. Applications submitted past the deadline will not be accepted.
Other Grant Programs: If you are unsuccessful in receiving a PDM-C or FMA grant, your application may be considered under a different FEMA grant program, e.g. the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP). Please contact VEM for additional details on these grant programs.

All submitted grant applications are subject to prior review and selection by the State Hazard Mitigation Project Selection committee.

If you have any questions concerning eligibility requirements for FEMA grant programs or if you need further assistance, contact please feel free to contact Ray Doherty at Vermont Emergency Management.

Contact: Ray Doherty, State Hazard Mitigation Officer
Vermont Emergency Management
103 South Main Street
Waterbury, VT 05671
Tel (802) 241-5258
Fax (802) 241-5556